2026 · sourced from each provider's product page

Best Series 7 exam prep in 2026

We list ourselves first on purpose, then compare honestly. The six most-recognized Series 7 providers stacked across price, practice question volume, adaptive learning, and who each one actually fits. Every claim is sourced from each provider's published product page.

Start Series 7 Prep → adaptive practice · ~15s to first question
[01]

The short answer

For self-funded candidates in 2026, the two adaptive options are CertFuel at $200 and Achievable at $199, both for a full year and within a dollar of each other. CertFuel ships the broadest learning stack in this comparison at the $200 tier: a full textbook with a bite-sized ~10-minute video on every page, 9,000+ adaptive questions, unlimited full-length practice exams, scenario-based audio podcast episodes for every course unit, FSRS-based flashcards, and a built-in Exam Readiness Score. The short-video and audio format is built to make the material easier to absorb than the multi-hour lecture stacks the other providers ship. Achievable ships adaptive question selection, 3,700+ questions, 35+ practice exams, an online textbook with narrated audio, an AI tutor, and bonus topic videos. Kaplan lists prices from $139, and its page does not describe adaptive selection.

If your firm is paying, use whoever they reimburse. Pass Perfect’s Series 7 page does not publish a question count and describes its selection only as "adaptive preparation." The premium providers add live instruction and support; this page does not compare question quality.

Start Series 7 Prep → adaptive practice · ~15s to first question
[02]

Price and feature comparison

Provider Price Qbank Size Adaptive Readiness AI Tutor Format
CertFuel $200 (12 mo) 9,000+ Yes Yes Aiden Adaptive app + video + podcast
Achievable $199 (12 mo) 3,700+ Yes Yes Yes Adaptive app + textbook + video
Pass Perfect $206 to $396 (7 mo) Not published Not described Not stated AI Learning Tools Online study guide + chapter videos
STC starting at $273 (6 mo) Not published Not described Greenlight exams Not stated Video lectures, print manual, progress exams
Kaplan starting at $139 (5 mo) Not published Not described Not stated AI Tutor Self-study + Live Online
Knopman Marks starting at $480 (12 mo) Not published Not described Benchmark exams KM Copilot (AI study assistant) Faculty-led classes and faculty calls

The AI Tutor column reflects what each provider advertises on its Series 7 page; "Not listed" means none is named there, not that one definitely does not exist.

[03]

Provider reviews

CertFuel

$200 (12 mo)

Broadest Series 7 prep stack in this comparison: textbook, videos, podcasts, adaptive quizzes, unlimited practice exams, flashcards, and the Aiden AI tutor

What it does well

  • $200 flat for 12 months of access (within a dollar of Achievable, the cheapest adaptive system)
  • Broadest content stack in this comparison: full textbook, FSRS flashcards, adaptive question bank, unlimited practice exams, audio podcasts, and a video on every page all included at the $200 tier
  • A full Series 7 textbook with a bite-sized ~10-minute video on every page (no two-hour lecture marathons)
  • Scenario-based audio podcast episode for every course unit (turn rules into stories you can listen to on the commute)
  • 9,000+ Series 7 questions (largest published bank in this comparison)
  • Adaptive engine weighted to FINRA's Series 7 job-function distribution
  • Unlimited full-length timed practice exams
  • FSRS-based spaced-repetition flashcards
  • Live Exam Readiness Score
  • Aiden, a built-in AI tutor that reads the lesson you are on, answers your questions, works examples, and breaks down the ones you miss (meet Aiden)
  • Access-until-you-pass policy (your access stays open until you pass, at no extra cost)
  • Money-back pass guarantee on paid courses (see the terms)

Where it falls short

  • No live-instructor option
  • Newer brand, smaller name recognition than Kaplan or STC
  • No printed textbook (online only)

Best for: Anyone who wants Series 7 prep that's actually fun to do. Bite-sized, mobile-first content that turns a commute, a lunch break, or a few minutes before bed into real progress. Listen, watch, or quiz from your phone, with a readiness score that tells you when you're ready.

Kaplan

starting at $139 (5 mo)

Self-study packages with optional Live Online or OnDemand instruction

What it does well

  • Live Online and OnDemand classes on the Premium package
  • Lowest listed price $139; Premium Live Online $309 and OnDemand $279
  • Premium tier includes Live Online or OnDemand video classes
  • QBank exams built by length and topic, with unlimited attempts
  • AI Tutor for study tips and concept explanations
  • Live online classes available with the Premium package

Where it falls short

  • Question count not published
  • Adaptive question selection not described
  • Five-month access window with paid extensions ($49 per extension)
  • Basic and Essential prices are not shown on the product page

Best for: Candidates whose firm reimburses Kaplan specifically, or who want the option to attend live online classes.

Knopman Marks

starting at $480 (12 mo)

Gold, Platinum, and Diamond tiers with one-year access

What it does well

  • Three published tiers: Gold ($480), Platinum ($710, "most popular"), Diamond ($1,110)
  • Faculty calls included on every tier, with the number varying by tier
  • Live classes on the Platinum and Diamond tiers
  • KM Copilot AI study assistant
  • Series 7 Video Vault add-on included on Platinum and Diamond
  • One-year access window

Where it falls short

  • Higher price than CertFuel or Achievable; adaptive question selection not described
  • Question count not published
  • Adaptive flashcards are described; adaptive question selection is not
  • Costs more than CertFuel or Achievable

Best for: Candidates whose firm pays for prep and who want live classes or faculty calls.

STC (Securities Training Corporation)

starting at $273 (6 mo)

Video lectures, a printed manual, and Series 7 Top-Off tiers

What it does well

  • Series 7 Top-Off tiers: Standard $273, Premier $479, Premier Plus $576
  • Multi-exam bundles available (SIE + Series 7, Series 7 + 63, Series 7 + 66)
  • Printed twenty-chapter study manual
  • STC’s page lists a pass guarantee (tier not confirmed)
  • About 23 hours of on-demand lectures
  • Instructor-led virtual class option
  • Progress exams of 20 questions each, plus two Greenlight readiness exams

Where it falls short

  • Question count not published
  • Adaptive selection and an AI tutor are not described
  • Custom exams by chapter and question count
  • Standard tier access window is six months

Best for: Candidates whose employer reimburses STC, or who want a combined SIE and Series 7 bundle.

Achievable

$199 (12 mo)

Adaptive platform with a money-back pass guarantee, at $199 for a full year

What it does well

  • Adaptive learning engine
  • 3,700+ quiz questions and 35+ full-length practice exams
  • Flat $199 price for a full year (one-time payment)
  • Online textbook with narrated audio, bonus topic videos, and a built-in AI tutor
  • Exam-readiness score on the course dashboard
  • Money-back pass guarantee (terms not on the product page)

Where it falls short

  • Smaller question bank than CertFuel (3,700+ vs 9,000+)
  • No live classes or instructor support

Best for: Candidates who want a paid product with adaptive learning but do not need a printed textbook or live instruction.

Pass Perfect

$206 to $396 (7 mo)

Pass Plus to Pass Promise, 7-month access, with a pass guarantee on the top tier

What it does well

  • Chapter, mastery, and final comprehensive exams (counts not published)
  • Three published tiers: Pass Plus ($206), Pass Plus Pro ($309), Pass Promise ($396)
  • "Pass Promise" guarantee on the $396 tier, which requires three practice finals at 75% or higher
  • Live virtual review and on-demand video on higher tiers
  • Instructor-led live virtual class on the Pass Promise tier
  • Chapter video lectures and an online study guide

Where it falls short

  • Page does not explain how questions are selected
  • Adaptive question selection not described
  • Pass guarantee only on premium tier
  • Live virtual class described for the Pass Promise tier

Best for: Candidates who want a pass guarantee and live review, or candidates whose firm specifically reimburses Pass Perfect.

[04]

Which Series 7 prep should you choose?

01

Self-funded or on a budget

CertFuel ($200) or Achievable ($199). Within a dollar on price; both include adaptive question selection. CertFuel ships the broadest content stack in this comparison: a full textbook with a ~10-minute video on every page, 9,000+ adaptive questions, unlimited practice exams, scenario-based podcast episodes for every unit, FSRS flashcards, and an Exam Readiness Score. Achievable ships a narrated textbook plus 3,700+ adaptive questions and 35+ practice exams. Kaplan’s page header starts at $139, and its page does not describe adaptive selection.

02

Full-service trainee, employer paying

Kaplan or Knopman Marks. Take whichever your firm reimburses. The cost is justified when someone else is paying and the course matches your training program.

03

Already failed once

CertFuel. Change the next study round with scenarios, explanations of why, and fresh practice. Keep useful material you already have, then use the Series 7 recovery plan to work on the decisions that still leave you guessing.

04

Just want a question bank

CertFuel, Achievable, or Pass Perfect. CertFuel ships 9,000+ adaptive questions at $200. Achievable ships 3,700+ adaptive questions plus 35+ full-length practice exams at $199. Pass Perfect’s question count is not published, and its prices start at $206. Adaptive selection matters more than raw count on a 125-question exam, which is why we pick CertFuel or Achievable for most candidates.

[05]

Frequently asked

Is there a free Series 7 exam prep?

There is no fully free Series 7 prep system. CertFuel hosts a free sample question bank at /series-7/. The two cheapest full adaptive systems are Achievable at $199 and CertFuel at $200, within a dollar of each other and both for a full year. Both include adaptive question selection and full-length practice exams.

What's the cheapest Series 7 exam prep?

Kaplan’s page header starts at $139, and its page lists a five-month access window without describing adaptive selection. Among adaptive systems, Achievable ($199) and CertFuel ($200) are within a dollar of each other for a full year (both ship adaptive question selection plus full-length practice exams). STC starts at $273 for Series 7 Top-Off Standard, Pass Perfect ranges $206 to $396 (Pass Plus to Pass Promise), Kaplan’s Premium package is $309 (Live Online) or $279 (OnDemand), and Knopman Marks lists $480 (Gold), $710 (Platinum), and $1,110 (Diamond).

Which Series 7 prep has the most practice questions?

Pass Perfect’s Series 7 page does not publish a question or exam count. Achievable advertises 3,700+ quiz questions plus 35+ full-length practice exams. CertFuel publishes 9,000+ Series 7 questions. STC, Kaplan, and Knopman Marks do not publish exact counts on their Series 7 product pages. Raw question count matters less than adaptive selection: CertFuel and Achievable both adjust which questions you see based on your performance, so weak topics resurface more often than total volume would suggest.

Which Series 7 prep has the highest pass rate?

No provider can actually prove it. FINRA does not publish pass rates by prep provider. Some providers advertise pass rates, such as a 99% figure on Knopman Marks’ Series 7 page and a 90% figure on Kaplan’s Series 66 page (footnoted to students of Kaplan’s insurance courses), and neither page gives a method we could verify. A provider can count only the students who finished its full program, or survey only the ones who came back to report a pass, and arrive at almost any number. We do not advertise a CertFuel pass rate for exactly that reason: we would rather you judge the product on things you can verify (price, published question volume, adaptive selection, and the content stack in the table above) than on a number no one outside the company can check. For context, the Series 7 first-time pass rate across all candidates and all study methods runs roughly 65 to 70 percent (see our full Series 7 pass rate breakdown at /series-7/study-guides/series-7-pass-rate/).

Is the cheapest Series 7 prep good enough to pass?

Yes. The Series 7 rewards practice question volume and exposure to full-length timed practice exams more than it rewards expensive instructor packages. CertFuel ($200) and Achievable ($199) both include adaptive question banks and full-length practice exams. CertFuel layers in a full textbook with a ~10-minute video on every page, scenario-based audio podcast episodes per unit, FSRS flashcards, and an Exam Readiness Score on top of the adaptive question bank for one dollar more. The premium tiers (Knopman Marks Platinum/Diamond, Kaplan Premium Live Online, Pass Perfect Pass Promise) add live or instructor-led components. This comparison does not rank question quality. If your firm reimburses a specific provider, take the reimbursement and use whatever they cover.

Which Series 7 prep has adaptive learning?

Two providers in this comparison state adaptive question selection: CertFuel and Achievable. Both adjust the questions you see based on your performance, so weak topics resurface more often. Kaplan offers an AI Tutor for concept explanations and a quiz builder filtered by length and topic, but its page does not describe adaptive selection. STC’s page describes custom exams by chapter and question count, with no adaptive selection described. Pass Perfect’s page uses the phrase "adaptive preparation" but does not explain how its questions are selected. Separate from its adaptive engine, CertFuel also ships a lesson-aware AI tutor, Aiden, that reads the exact lesson you are on and explains it or works examples on demand.

Do I need a paid Series 7 prep course?

No, but a paid course is optional. The Series 7 has no required course, and FINRA does not endorse any specific provider. Our estimate is that most candidates need roughly 80 to 100 hours of focused study over 5 to 8 weeks, a sizeable practice question bank, and several full-length timed practice exams. If your sponsoring firm reimburses prep, take the reimbursement. If you're self-funded, CertFuel ($200) and Achievable ($199) are the lowest-priced adaptive options on this page.

How long does Series 7 prep take?

Our estimate is that most candidates are exam-ready in 5 to 8 weeks of focused study (80 to 100 total hours). Candidates who just passed the SIE within the last 3 to 6 months trend toward the lower end of the range because the foundational securities content is fresh. Cold attempts (no recent SIE) trend toward the upper end. Plan most of your hours against options strategies, municipal securities, and customer accounts, which together carry the heaviest weighting on the FINRA outline.

Don't see your question answered here? We'd love to help. Get in touch with us.

Start Series 7 Prep → adaptive practice · ~15s to first question